环岛路HASH野兔向导

(公然山寨《芝加哥野兔向导》和《Frog Chopper's Guide to Setting and Running a Hash Trail》)

既然你已经参加了几次环岛路Hash,很可能已经开始明白Hash的路线是什么样的。是时候考虑做一次你自己的路线。设路线是一次具有挑战性的,能从中有所收获的经历,将给你带来一次新的有趣的Hash体验。那你还在等什么呢?对那些做好准备要更进一步的人,环岛路Hash在这提供帮助

第一步:选一个日期

第一件事就是查看Hash日程,上面列出了接下来将要进行的 野兔的日期和设路线的人。从上面找一个适合你的开放日期并告诉组织者。如果没有开放的日期,或者适合你的时间已经有野兔了。别担心,日程只列出将来几个月的活动日期。如果你联系组织者,你可能对后面的将要开放的日期享有优先权。有时候日期开放比较迟,所以联系组织者以防万一。或者你可以联系那些在列表上的野兔看他们是否需要合作的野兔

第一次设路线时最好找一个有经验的野兔合作,你很可能会发现这个指导手册很有帮助并且你已经把所有的事情都安排好了,但是有经验的野兔会教你一些你从来没考虑到的事情。也可以试着和一些你不认识的人合作,每个野兔有不同的风格,更重要的是你可以学到不同的技巧。谁知道呢,即使那些做过几百次路线的人或许也能从你身上学到新的有趣的做事方法。

第二步:计划路线

这一步因人而异,所以找到适合你的方法很重要。别忘了作为一个野兔你有责任让所有的组员到达啤酒点。你可能没办法让他们同时到达,或者有时候会丢了一个组员。但是你目标应该是尽量让大家在同个时间到达同个地点,而不是要让大家迷路。

另一个重要的事情就是天气和路线的距离。线路的距离也是因野兔而异的,但是大多数的路线一般是5-6公里对于walkers,对于runners再加上另外5-6公里。如果你想要更长的路线,必须意识到当天大家回去的时间(没人喜欢到晚上11点才能到集合点)和当天的天气(太热、太冷,下雨、刮大风、暴雪的天气通常路线都比较短)。理论上环岛路Hash在每个月的第一周和第三周不管刮风下雨都跑,但是不意味着我们鼓励你在设置路线时不考虑天气条件。

大部分路线开始于想法,有许多的hare们在最开始设置路线时就已经知道应该把哪选为起点, 设置的路线会经过这一地区的哪些地点, 然后在那个地点设置啤酒休息点。但适合运用这一方法设路线的人,通常已经对一个地区已经十分熟悉,并且能够精确的丈量路线的距离。

另一种计划路线的有效办法是区域侦查。如果附近有一个地方你从来没去过,你应该利用一个下午去那边走走。你可能会在附近找到一些有趣奇怪的地方可以加到路线中。至少这可以保证你在设路线的过程中不会因为时间紧迫而迷路。

有些人发现广泛地的在地图上绘制路线很有用,在地图上标记每一个分叉路,勘察点,错路。这种方法有用是因为它能保证你在设置路线的时候不会迷路,而且也可以防止抄近路,因为你在每个场合都试想组员将往哪里走。所以你不大可能让“分岔路”“勘察点”和主线路中的其他部分太近。Google Earth在这种方式中是一个非常有用的工具。

最后,不要在你的路线中设计任何让人们感觉不舒服的尝试。再一次强调,你的任务是保证每个组员可以到达啤酒点, 所以对于让人们游泳穿过筼筜湖看上去是很好玩又创新的想法,但是问问你自己这是否会令大家对于到达啤酒店感到灰心。如果是,你应该给那些不像你一样硬汉的人再设计一条可选择的路线。

在环岛路Hash中,路线可以是A-A,就是起点和终点在同一个地方。也可以是A-B,就是终点在另一个地方。A-B的类型计划时需要小心,需要保证每个人都能到达终点。路线的起点和终点都要考虑到交通问题。环岛路Hash的参与者,大部分都是通过公共交通到达指定地点的,所以起点必须通过公共交通很容易就能到达,终点必须方便大家在Hash后去吃饭。选择餐馆的唯一标准就是价格相对便宜的地方。

既然你是要在经历了千辛万苦之后才设置完成路线,你应该希望越多的人来参加。有必要及时地把准确的信息发给组织者,包括起点(详细的地址),最近的公交站和所有能够到达这一车站的公交车列表。并且标明你将在哪一边开始(例如靠山的一边,东边等)。理想的情况是提前2周完成这些工作,这样可以在前一次Hash中公布。记住指示必须清楚,才能让人们找到。不能假设每个人都知道,“因为我们之前来过很多次了”。如果你参加了前一次的Hash,你可以保证为自己的Hash做宣传。并且在Hash结束时收集歌集以便在你的Hash中使用。

第三步:设置路线

你已经做到了这一步,我想是时候去设置实际的路线了。第一件事你应该决定是提前设置路线还是现场设置路线。这由个人喜好决定,但是对于每种情况有些事都是需要考虑的。

对于提前设置路线,最重要的事情是给你自己保留足够的时间 - 这取决于你在设路线时需要跑多久。如果你想慢慢的、悠闲的走着设路线,那么人们跑一个小时的路线大概需要2个小时来设置,大多数的路线需要花3-4个小时来设置。如果你是跑着设路线,很明显你花的时间会更少。

如果你是现场设置路线,那么你需要指定另外一个hasher作为你的chalk-talk 野兔给其他人讲解你在Hash中用到的标记。你的chalk-talk 野兔将你在你离开15分钟后让大家开始跑。

不管你是提前还是现场设置路线,你做标志的目的是让人们很容易的跟随你的路线。所有的标志必须能够很清楚被看到而不能隐藏在墙、垃圾箱等后面。唯一的例外就是在“勘察点”后面的最先的几个圆点或者箭头可以被隐藏用来使勘察变难一点。

同样需要考虑标志间的距离。一旦你设置了标志,一般是在人们来之前的2-3个小时(除非你是现场设路线)。在那段时间任何事都有可能发生。你的标志需要靠的足够近,这样即使一、两个标志被擦除(有人给草坪浇水或者车停在你的标志上)人们依然可以继续跟随你的路线。至少30-40步必须有一个标志。没有这种说法--路线已经被标记的很好了,所以如果不能确定,设置更多标志。

如果你在白天设置晚上跑的路线,请注意路灯的位置并把标志设置在路灯照射得到的地方。安全起见,你最好是在晚上试跑一次以决定设置标志的最佳地点。

现在是时候决定你用什么材料来标志路线。主要需要考虑的是天气和Hash开始的时间。

白面粉—厦门Hash所用的标准材料。你大概需要2-3公斤来设置路线,另外的一公斤用于扫尾(详见第4步)。为了设置圆点,大部分的人用两层超市的购物袋装面粉,以防止面粉的泄漏。把网球浸到面粉中,然后扔到地上(或者把球拿在手上砸到粗超的地面,因为网球会往任何方向反弹)。面粉在雨天特别有用,因为面粉在雨中保留的时间比其他材料更久。你也可以把圆点设置在垂直的表面。例如设置在树上,这样能更好防止被雨水冲刷掉或者被环卫工人扫掉。

白粉笔—白粉笔在天气好的时候可以用来设路线。它能提供很高的对比度,让成员很容易看见。白粉笔在白天和晚上都可以使用,但是很容易被雨水冲刷掉。

记住,在Hash中没有“被雨水冲刷掉”这一说法。如果你的路线被雨水冲刷掉,你必须返回再设一遍。仔细地计划,查看天气预报并明智地选择材料。如果你是计划提前设置路线,而马上就要下雨,那么你应该考虑用现场设置来替代。如果你觉得靠自己无法完成任务,不要害怕寻求帮助,你几乎总是能找到愿意帮助你现场设置路线的人。

在设置路线时别忘了使用标准的环岛路Hash标志。加入新的标志是有趣和令人兴奋的,但是试着慢慢地把它们加入,因为一下子切换到一个全新的标志系统会使组员困惑。标准的标志如下:

On-On 设置在起点,标志着路线的开端。

圆点和箭头在路线中是指示方向的标志。

分岔路(多个分叉的箭头)表示箭头所指的方向中只有一个是正确的方向,需要一个简单路线标志(圆点或箭头)指示正确的方向。

查找(圆圈)表示路线有可能往任何一个方向走,需要去查找,而必须有一个方向的标志是将路线引导到正确的道路上。

错路(FT或者三条直线)表示是错路,看到这个标志需要返回到圆圈寻找另一个方向。

往回查找(通常这个标志包含着数字)。当看到这个标志时(例如数字是4),需要往回数相应的圆点(就往回数4个点)。那么第4个点相当于check,需要在附近找其他的方向。

走路(W)跑步(R) W代表容易的路线,R代表难的路线。

BN 代表离啤酒点比较近(通常少于500米)。

BS 代表在这里休息并享受冰啤酒。

On-In 表示到达终点。

最后,也是最重要的。当你在设置路线时(尤其是你用面粉)你将会遇到人们问你在做什么。最简单的回答方式就是告诉他们你在为一个跑步俱乐部设置路线,只是用面粉或者粉笔来指示往哪里跑。如果你是用面粉,告诉他们你是用面粉,对宠物和小孩都是无害的。

记住当你设置路线时你代表的是环岛路Hash组织,即使我们享受粗鲁、粗俗。并不表示我们想要野兔激怒当地人。想使你的路线都是因为你犯下的错误而被人们永远的记住?那就在设路线时激怒某人并让当局来找我们吧!

第4步:标志讲解,扫尾,啤酒点

现在你已经设置好了路线,你需要回到起点。在起点你需要准备好歌集(在上一次Hash中收集的)、签到本、徽章(组织者给你的)、每人一瓶水、塑料杯子(在啤酒点发给大家)。指定某个人让大家签到,收钱(20元每人)并给第一次参加的人发徽章。接下来你有三件非常重要的事需要做,第一件就是标志讲解。

标志讲解—在开始前,大家围成一圈由野兔给大家介绍在路线中用到的标志。这很有用,因为这给第一次参加的人一次机会去熟悉“环岛路Hash”标准标志,或者是给你自已机会介绍在设置路线时用到的新的有趣的标志。即使你在设置路线时使用的是标准标志,参加的人也都是老队员了,你仍然需要讲解标志,为了安全起见。ON-ON指南会帮助你确保不会忘记任何事情。别忘了在起点为迟来的人标志一个箭头。

你的下一个责任是扫尾。扫尾是强制的。简单的说,这是作为野兔的工作,做好标志让迟到的hashers有机会赶上前面的队伍。你从起点标志一个箭头就已经开始扫尾工作,当大家跑完后你在每一个check、分岔路、或者是明显改变方向的的地方标志箭头。野兔必须自己做扫尾工作或者是指定另外一个人帮助你扫尾,你需要给他面粉和关于路线的详细介绍

别忘了啤酒点。作为野兔你要负责把啤酒拿到啤酒点。大部分的野兔为了省事都是把啤酒点设置在买啤酒的地方。如果你想把啤酒点设置在更远的地方,你需要去买啤酒,把啤酒带到啤酒点,并保存好啤酒。

为了节约成本,环岛路Hash买500毫升装的啤酒,通常是青岛啤酒。野兔必须要在啤酒店给大家提供塑料杯子, 并且确保每个人都能够分享到啤酒。野兔应该鼓励大家保存杯子到结束,这样可以减少污染也可以让野兔少带一些杯子。

在啤酒点购买啤酒时,需要考虑人数和天气。在夏天,一箱青岛啤酒对于10个人或许刚刚好,但是在冬天对于25个人或许都太多了。一个很好的经验法则是在夏天10个人6瓶,在冬天10个人4瓶。提供合理温度的啤酒(例如不要在夏天提供不冰的啤酒)。鼓励在天气特别热的时候多买些水,毕竟你不想看到有人因为中暑而晕倒吧!给大家买一些小吃,不需要复杂的—薯片、饼干就可以了。

你需要注意啤酒点到终点的距离。环岛路Hash一般是需要啤酒点均匀分布。如果只有一个啤酒点,那么需要设置在路线的1/2到2/3之间。

一旦你到达终点,需要给大家安排啤酒和小吃。一个很好的经验法则是在夏天10个人12瓶,在冬天10个人8瓶。如果啤酒喝完的话,指定“小二”(注:帮别人倒酒并保证没有人的杯子是空的)去买更多的啤酒。还有指定其他人主持down-down,或者根据On-In指南自己主持down-down。你还应该和餐馆确认Hash之后的晚餐。

第5步:喝酒

恭喜你,所有的人都到达了终点。在你指定完圈内的主持人和“小二”来给大家倒酒后, 你就可以暂时休息下,准备接下来一连串精彩的down-downs。可能是你把事情搞砸了,并且很糟糕、即使你没有,大家也喜欢把怒气发在你身上。 保持镇定,抬头挺胸的把自己杯子里的啤酒喝掉。希望你记得最后一班公交车离开的时间,因为参加者需要知道。

最后注意事项:

如果上面的事情看上去太多,不要害怕寻求帮助。如果你选择自己完成所有的工作,大家很乐意;当然也乐意帮忙如果你要求的话。

Huandaolu Hash House Harriers Hare Guide

(Flagrantly Stolen From the Chicago Hash House Harriers Hare Guide and Frog Chopper's Guide to Setting and Running a Hash Trail)

Now that you've run a few hashes with the Huandaolu Hash House Harriers, you're probably starting to get the hang of how trails go. It’s time for you to consider haring a trail of your own. Haring is a challenging and rewarding experience that adds a new and fun dimension to hashing. So what are you waiting for? For those ready to take the next step, the Huandaolu Hash House Harriers are here to help.

Step 1: Pick A Date

The very first thing that you should do when haring is look at the Hareline - this is a list of upcoming dates when the Huandaolu Hash House Harriers will be running and who will hare on those dates. Find an open date that works best for you and contact the Hare Raiser to claim a particular date. If no dates are open, or the date that works for you already has a hare, don't worry - the Huandaolu Hash House Harriers caps the hareline a few months into the future, but if you contact the hare raiser about a date in the future you may get first dibs at that date when we start taking reservations for it. Also, sometimes dates open up later, so contact the Hare Raiser just in case. Alternately, you could try and contact the person who has signed up for a particular date and see if they need a co-hare.

It is in your best interest to find an experienced co-hare the first few times that you lay a trail - though you may find this guide helpful and you may think you've got everything organized, there are things that an experienced co-hare can teach you that you would never think of. Try out co-haring with people you've never hared with before as well - each hare has a different style and, more importantly, a different bag of tricks from which you can learn. Who knows, even those who have laid hundreds of trails may end up learning a new and interesting way of doing things from you!

Step 2: Plan The Trail

This step varies from person to person, so it is important to find the method that works best for you - just don't forget that it is your job as the hare to get every member of the pack to the beer stop. They may not make it all there at the same time, and you may lose a member of the pack every now and again, but your goal should be to get everybody to the same point at about the same time, NOT to get everybody lost and confused.

Another important thing to remember is the weather and the distance of your trail - trail length can certainly vary from hare to hare, but most trails are between 5 and 6 kilometres for the walkers with an additional 5 to 6 kilometres for the runners. If you're want to lay longer trails, be aware of the time of day that your pack is leaving (nobody likes getting back to the circle at 11pm in the Summer) and the weather (runs in extreme hot and cold are usually shorter, as are runs taking place during rain, wind, and snow storms). The Huandaolu Hash House Harriers do run every first and third weekend regardless of the weather, but that doesn't mean that we'll appreciate your trail regardless of the weather conditions.

Most trails start off as ideas, and many hares plan a trail knowing only that they want to start at a given place, run past a few specific points in town, and then wind up at a beer stop. This method is usually preferred by people who know a given area particularly well and are able to accurately judge distances.

Another useful tool in planning a trail is to scout the area - if you've never been in a particular neighborhood you should take an afternoon to walk around the area. You're likely to find some fun little quirks of the neighborhood that you can then incorporate into your trail. At the very least, this will help ensure that you don't get lost when you're pressed for time laying your trail.

Some people find it helpful to extensively map the trail - marking down on a map where every split, check, and false trail will be. This method is helpful because it helps ensure that you won't get lost while sweeping your own trail (see Step 4), but it also helps prevent shortcutting, since you'll be trying to think where the pack will go in each instance and you're less likely to have splits and checks too close to other parts of trail. Google Earth is a particularly useful tool for doing this.

Lastly, never plan anything into your trail that you think the pack would be uncomfortable attempting - again, your job is to make sure that every member of the pack makes it to the beer stop, so while having the pack swim across Yundang lake might seem like a fun and innovative idea, ask yourself whether such an action would discourage people from getting to your beer stop. If it does, you should probably plan an alternate route for people who are not as hardcore as yourself.

At Huandaolu Hash House Harriers, trails can be A-A runs, where we finish at the same location we started from or A-B, where the trail finishes at another location. A-B runs need to be carefully planned to ensure that everyone can find the “B” (finish point). When deciding where to start and finish your trail consider the transportation needs of the pack. At Huandaolu Hash House Harriers the vast majority of people use public transportation so the start must be easily accessible by public transport and the finish should be reasonably placed for wherever you intend people to go for dinner after the hash. The only criteria for choosing a restaurant is that it should be relatively inexpensive.

Since you are going to all the trouble of setting trail you probably want as many people as possible to join in the fun. It's essential to send accurate details to the Hair Raiser in good time, including the starting point (full address), the nearest bus stop and a list of buses that stop there. Don’t forget to identify which side of the street you will be start from (e.g. mountain side, east side). Ideally this should be done more than two weeks in advance so that it can be announced at the preceding hash. Remember that the instructions have to be clear so that visitors can find it - don't just assume that everyone knows "because we've been there before so many times". If you turn up to the preceding hash you can make sure your hash is advertised and you can also collect song sheets at the end of this hash for your own hash.

Step 3: Lay the Trail

You've made it this far, I guess that it is time to lay the actual trail. Your first decision should be whether to pre-lay the trail (“dead hare”) or to lay the trail live (“live hare”). This is a matter of personal preference, but there are certain things to consider for each situation.

For a dead hare trail, the most important thing to do is leave yourself enough time to set trail - this varies depending on how much running you do while setting trail. If you like to take it easy and walk the trail while laying it, you will need at least two hours for every one hour of pack running. Most trails takes 3-4 hours to lay. If you're going to run while setting trail you'll obviously need less time.

If you are live-haring, you should designate another hasher as your chalk-talk hare and given them written instructions regarding the marks you will use on the trail. Your chalk-talk hare will send the pack out 15 minutes after you have departed.

Whether you dead-hare or live-hare, the objective in placing your marks is to allow the pack to easily follow your trail. All of your marks should be in plain sight and not hidden behind walls, dumpsters, etc. The only exception applies to the first few marks leading away from a checkpoint. Those blobs or arrows may be somewhat hidden in order to make solving the check a bit more difficult.

Also consider the distance between your marks. Once you set a mark, it may be 2 to 3 hours before the pack comes along (unless you are live-haring). Anything can happen during that time. Your marks should be close enough together so that if one or two marks get wiped out (someone waters their lawn or parks their car on your arrow), the pack can still figure out how to continue on your trail. At a minimum, there should be a mark every 30-to-40 paces. There is no such thing as a trail that is too well marked! If in doubt put more marks.

If you are setting a trail during daylight hours that the pack will run after dark, take note of the location of street lights and use them to your advantage by placing marks in a spot that will be illuminated. To be safe you should also test-run the trail at night to determine the best locations for marks.

Now it’s time to decide what you're going to mark trail with. The prime considerations here are the weather and the time of day the run will take place.

White Flour – The standard trail marking material in Xiamen. You will need approximately 2-3 kilograms of flour to lay the trail and another kilogram to sweep the trail behind the pack (see Step 4). To make blobs, most people put the flour into a few supermarket carrier bags one inside the other to stop the flour coming out of the holes), dip in a tennis ball and throw it at the ground (or keep it in the hand to knock against rough surfaces which it would bounce off in random directions). Flour is particularly useful on rainy days. It takes much longer for flour to wash away than other material. It can also be placed on rough vertical surfaces like trees which are better protected from the rain and not swept away by the ever vigilant Xiamen street cleaners.

White Chalk – White chalk can be used for marking trail when the weather is good. It provides high contrast, which makes your marks easy for the pack to see. White chalk works well day or night but washes away quickly in the rain.

Remember, there are no “rain-outs” on the hash. If your trail gets washed away by rain, you are still responsible for going back out and re-marking it. Plan carefully. Watch the weather forecast and choose your marking material wisely. If you were planning to dead-hare your trail and rain is on the way, you may want to consider holding off and live-haring the trail instead. Don’t be afraid to ask for help. You can almost always find someone in the pack that is willing to step up and help you live-hare your trail if you’re not up to the task yourself.

Don't forget to use standard Huandaolu marks when laying trail as well - new marks can be fun and exciting, but try to incorporate them slowly, as switching to a completely new marking system is likely to just confuse the hounds. Standard Huandaolu marks are as follows:

On-On marks the start of the trail.

or Blobs or arrows are simple trail marks that indicate the direction of the trail.

Splits (multi-pronged arrows) are decision points where the trail goes in one of the directions indicated by the arrows. One simple trail mark is required to indicate true trail.

Checks (circles) are decision points where trail can go any of 360 degrees and three separate marks are required to indicate true trail.

or False Trail (FT or three straight lines) indicates that the pack has been fucked and should return to the check and look in another direction.

Checkback indicates that the pack should count back (#) simple trail marks (in this case 4). The checkback itself is not a simple trail mark. The (#)th dot now acts as a check

Walkers (W) Runners(R) Splits the trail. Easier for Whimps, harder for Rambo’s

Beer Near shows that the pack is close to the beer stop (usually 500 metres or less)

Beer Stop tells the pack to stop and enjoy a frosty brew.

On-In marks the end of the trail.

Lastly, and most importantly, when you are laying trail (especially if you are doing it with flour) you are going to encounter people asking what you're doing - the easiest thing to tell people is that you're laying a trail for a running club and that you're simply using chalk or flour so that people know where to go. If you're laying flour explain to them that what you're using is just flour and is perfectly safe for pets and little children.

Remember that when you're out laying trail you're a representative of the Huandaolu Hash House Harriers, and even though we all enjoy being rude, crude, and socially undesirable, that doesn't mean that we want our hares to piss off the locals. Want to get your trail immortalized for all of the wrong reasons? Piss off somebody while setting trail and get the authorities called on us.

Step 4: Chalk Talk, Sweeping The Trail, Beer Stop(s) and Circle

So you're done laying trail and you've found your way back to the starting point. At the starting point you should have song sheets (that you collected from the last hash), sign-in sheets and badges (that the GM gave you) a bottle of water for each runner and plastic cups to distribute at the beer stop(s). Nominate someone to sign-in people, collect their money (20RMB per person) and hand out badges to virgins. You now have three really important responsibilities left. The first of which is chalk talk.

Chalk talk is a simple concept - before the pack departs the meeting point it gathers in a circle and the hare explains which marks are used out on trail. This is helpful because it gives virgin hashers and visitors a chance to familiarize themselves with our standard Huandaolu marks, or it gives you a chance to show the pack all of the new and interesting marks that you've messed up the trail with. Even if you only laid your trail with standard Huandaolu marks and you have only veteran hashers, you should still go through the marks at chalk talk, just to be sure. The On-On Guide will help make sure you don’t forget anything. Also, don't forget to leave an on-out arrow for any late-comers.

Your next responsibility as a hare is sweeping. Sweeping the trail is mandatory. Simply put, it is your job as the hare to make sure the trail is marked so that the slower hashers have a chance to catch up to those in the front of the pack. You started sweeping when you left an on-out arrow at the start point. At every check, split or significant change in direction indicate the trail direction with an arrow after the pack has passed through. The hares must do this themselves or designate a member of the pack as “sweeper” and provide them with chalk or flour and detailed information about the trail.

Don't forget the beer stop(s). As a hare you're also responsible for getting beer to the beer stop(s) for the pack. Most hares keep things simple and have the beer stop right where the beer is purchased. If you want a beer stop somewhere more remote you've got to go out and purchase beer, physically take it to the beer stop, and safeguard it for the pack.

To keep costs reasonable Huandaolu Hash House Harriers buy 500ml bottles of beer, usually Qingdao. Hares are required to provide plastic cups at the beer stop(s) and circle to allow people to share a bottle. Hares should also encourage runners to keep their cups from one beer stop to the next. This reduces pollution and the number of plastic cups hares have to carry around.

When purchasing beer for the beer stop, keep the size of the pack and the weather in mind - while a case of Qindao might be fun to down at the beer stop for a pack of ten during the summer, in the winter it might be too much for even a pack of 25. A good rule of thumb is 6 (4) large bottles of beer for every ten people in the summer (winter). Beer should be served at a reasonable temperature (ie. do not bring warm beer to a beer stop in the middle of summer). Bringing water on especially hot days is also encouraged - you don't want people passing out from heat exhaustion during circle, after all. And don’t forget some snacks for the pack; nothing elaborate - chips, biscuits, crackers all go down well.

Your distance from the Beer Stop to the On-in should also be noted. The Huandaolu Hash House Harriers typically have their beer stops evenly spaced. If you only have one beer stop it should be one-half to two-thirds of the way along the trail.

Once you reach the end, you then need to organize beer and snacks for the circle. A good rule of thumb is 12 (8) beers for every 10 people in the summer (winter). Appoint beer bitches to buy more beer if you run out and someone else to organize the down-downs. Or MC yourself by following the On-In Guide. You should also confirm your imminent arrival with your chosen restaurant for the post-hash dinner.

Step 5: Drink Up

Congrats, the hounds have all made it back to the circle. You have appointed an MC for the circle and beer bitches to keep the beer flowing. Now you can sit back, relax, and prepare for a barrage of down-downs. Chance are you messed something up, and badly, and even if you haven't, the pack is likely to take out their anger on you anyway - stay calm and take your down-downs with your chin up. I hope you remembered when that last bus leaves, because chances are you're going to need it.

Final note:

If the above all seems too much don’t be afraid to ask for help. The pack will happily let you do it all if you choose but will also cheerfully pitch in if asked.